Friday October 08, 2021

Warmup Matches Schedule For T20 World Cup 2021 Announced

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the warmup matches schedule for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 which will be played from October 17 onwards in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman.

The T20 World Cup 2021 will begin with 8 teams playing the qualifying round including Bangladesh and Sri Lanka from October 17 to 22. The top eight ranked teams along with hosts India have already qualified for the main draw in the Super 12s round and those sides, during this period will get into the groove with warm-up matches.

The schedule for the same has been announced and the matches will be played only on two days, October 18 and 20 with four matches taking place on each day.

Every side will get to play two matches each in the lead up to the Super 12 round starting from October 23.

The Virat Kohli-led India side will face England and Australia in their warm-up matches which is good for the team given the strength of both sides. Their arch-rivals Pakistan, who will play India on October 24, will take on defending champions West Indies and South Africa in the warmup matches.

Australia will also face New Zealand, who will then play England as well in a repeat of the World Cup 2019 final.

In total, 8 matches will be played across two days with Dubai and Abu Dhabi hosting them. As of now, it is confirmed that Star Sports will telecast India’s warm-up matches apart from the main tournament from October 17.

The Super 12 round, meanwhile, will commence with the game between Australia and South Africa. And on the same day, the finalists of the 2016 T20 World Cup, England and West Indies will lock horns.

Here is the schedule of the T20 World Cup 2021 warm-up matches:
October 18, Monday – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Match 1 – Afghanistan vs South Africa – 3:30 PM IST
Match 2 – New Zealand vs Australia -7:30 PM IST

October 18, Monday – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Match 3 – Pakistan vs West Indies – 3:30 PM IST
Match 4 – India vs England – 7:30 PM IST

October 20, Tuesday – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Match 5 – England vs New Zealand – 3:30 PM IST
Match 6 – South Africa vs Pakistan – 7:30 PM IST

October 20, Tuesday – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Match 7 – India vs Australia – 3:30 PM IST
Match 8 – Afghanistan vs West Indies – 7:30 PM IST

Also Read: IPL 2021: Rohit Sharma Becomes First Indian Batsman To Smash 400 Sixes In T20 Cricket

← Back>