Saturday April 09, 2022

Voting On No-confidence Motion Against PM Begins

ISLAMABAD: Voting on the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran has begun as PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq is chairing the session.

Minutes before that, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser resigned from his post, saying he could not take part in a foreign conspiracy to oust the prime minister.

Before announcing his resignation, Qaiser said that he had received “important documents” from the cabinet, which he invited the leader of the opposition and the Chief Justice of Pakistan to see.

“In line with our laws and the need to stand for our country, I have decided that I can’t remain on the position of speaker and thereby resign,” he said.

← Back>