Sunday November 07, 2021

T-20 W Cup: Baber, Hafeez, Shoaib, Destroy Scotland Bowling, Set 190 Runs Target

Sharjah: Pakistan have set 190 runs target to Scotland in its last match of ICC T-20 World Cup super 12 round.

Skipper Baber Azam, Muhammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik presented splendid performance today as Baber and Shoaib Malik scored half centuries while Hafeez also scored 31.

Shoaib Malik propelled his team to a 189-run total against Scotland .The former skipper’s blitz of boundaries proved instrumental for the Men in Green after captain Babar Azam’s campaign came to an end at 17.3 overs.

Babar scored 66 off 47 balls, his fourth 50 in the tournament so far. Shoaib Malik scored 54 off 18 — the fastest 50 in Pakistan men’s T20I history.

Scotland first drew blood against Pakistan by dismissing opener Muhammad Rizwan at 6.1 overs. That followed by Fakhar Zaman being sent back to the pavilion at 9.4 overs. The third man to go was Muhammad Hafeez, at 14.6 overs.

Earlier, Pakistan Captain Baber Azam decided to bat first after winning toss against Scotland in Sharjah.

The star duo of skipper Babar Azam and Muhammad Rizwan opened the game for the side.

Rizwan was replaced by Fakhar Zaman, who was then replaced by Muhammad Hafeez, who in turn was replaced by Shoaib Malik.

With four men down, Pakistan looked to Malik and Asif Ali to give the side a defensible total.

Pakistan are unchanged, while Scotland have two changes: Macleod, Evans out; Tahir, Budge in.
“We want to bat first, put a total and put pressure on them. We are not complacent. We are looking to carry on with our momentum. Same team,” said Pakistan skipper Babar Azam said after he won the toss.

“People back home love cricket a lot and they are supporting us. We are trying to make them happy with our performances,” he added.

Meanwhile, Scotland captain Kyle Coetzer said: “We’ve been looking forward to these games and we’ll be going out there today to give our best. We have to test ourselves against the best.”

“Coming into the tournament, we came in believing that we are capable of competing against the best and we’ll still believe that. But we have to go through these kinds of tests. Hopefully in our journey we’ve inspired a few people in Scotland and around the world too,” he added.

Pakistan: 1 Babar Azam (capt), 2 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 3 Fakhar Zaman, 4 Mohammad Hafeez, 5 Shoaib Malik, 6 Asif Ali, 7 Shadab Khan, 8 Imad Wasim, 9 Hasan Ali, 10 Haris Rauf, 11 Shaheen Shah Afridi

Scotland: 1 George Munsey, 2 Kyle Coetzer (capt), 3 Dylan Budge, 4 Richie Berrington, 5 Michael Leask, 6 Matthew Cross (wk), 7 Chris Greaves, 8 Mark Watt, 9 Safyaan Sharif, 10 Hamza Tahir, 11 Brad Wheal

← Back>