Thursday October 28, 2021

Sri Lanka To Take On Australia Today In T-20 World Cup

ABU DHABI: Australia will take on Sri Lanka at Abu Dhabi on today (Thursday) in International Cricket Council (ICC) Twenty20 Cricket World Cup super 12 round.

The match will start at 7:00 p.m. Pakistan Standard Time (PST).

This group is accepted as the toughest to emerge from but a victory for either Australia or Sri Lanka to make it two from two would leave them strongly placed for a semi-final slot.

Both sides chased successfully in their opening games, but Sri Lanka’s was more convincing than Australia’s albeit on a surface that was easier for strokeplay in Sharjah. The two teams last met in 2019 when Australia won 3-0 in home conditions.

Having come through the qualifying stage unbeaten, Sri Lanka are building some nice momentum having been an unfancied side before the tournament. The way Charith Asalanka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa resurrected the innings against Bangladesh will have been a huge fillip

For Australia, there was a bit of a sigh of relief to get over the line against South Africa, a match that shaped as vital for their hopes of progressing. They were excellent with the ball and in the field – led by Josh Hazlewood’s superb opening spell and the bonus of Glenn Maxwell’s four overs – but if they are to go deep in the competition, they will need David Warner and Aaron Finch to fire.

While Justin Langer has said Australia will be flexible with their selections, it would appear unlikely they will change unless there are specific match-ups they want for the Sri Lankans. Mitchell Marsh and Stoinis were not needed with the ball against South Africa, so they provide extra options if Maxwell (or anyone else) can’t get through four overs.

Australia (probable) 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Mitchell Marsh, 4 Steven Smith, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

Sri Lanka may also be unchanged although they could recall spinner Maheesh Theekshana, who missed the Bangladesh game with a side strain. If so he would likely replace Binura Fernando.

Sri Lanka (probable) 1 Kusal Perera (wk), 2 Pathum Nissanka, 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Avishka Fernando, 5 Wanindu Hasaranga, 6 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 7 Dasun Shanka (capt), 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Lahiru Kumara, 11 Binura Fernando/Maheesh Theekshana

← Back>