Monday April 11, 2022

Shahbaz Sharif Becomes 23rd PM Of Pakistan

Islamabad: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shahbaz Sharif has become 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan.

As many as 13 opposition parties voted in favour of Shahbaz Sharif. The former chief minister Punjab got 174 votes of the MNAs.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi got zero votes as his party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had decided to boycott voting for electing a new prime minister.

The opposition parties which supported Shahbaz Sharif included Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Jamiat Ulma-e-Islam -Fazal (JUI-F), Muttahida Quami Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-Mengal), Jamhori Waten Party (JWP), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP).

Before this, former prime minister Imran khan lost his premiership through a no-confidence motion of the opposition parties.

The No-Confidence motion got support of 174 members of the NA.

← Back>