Friday July 22, 2022

PTI, PML-Q MPAs Reach Punjab Assembly For Vital Vote For Election Of CM Punjab

Lahore: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and (PMLQ) members of provincial assembly (MPAs) have reached the PA.

On the other hand Chief Minister Punjab Hamza Shahbaz has reached a local hotel, where he preside a meeting of the opposition parties which included hos own, PML-N, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). and independent members.

A crucial session of the Punjab Assembly (PA) for the election of the provincial chief minister (CM) will be held today (Friday) at 4pm under the chairmanship of Deputy Speaker Dost Mazari.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has a clear majority in the Punjab Assembly, with Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi now most likely to replace Hamza Shahbaz Sharif as the new chief minister of the province.

During the by-elections in Punjab, the PTI grabbed 15 of the total 20 seats while PML-N won four seats and the remaining one seat went to an independent candidate.

Before the by-polls, the PTI and PML-Q had already attained the strength of 173 (163 of PTI and 10 of PML-Q). Now, with 15 additional seats, this strength has reached 188 whereas the figure of the simple majority stands at 186.

Meanwhile, the coalition government has 179 members – PML-N with 164 members, PPP with seven, three independents and one member of the Pakistan Rah-e-Haq party.

← Back>