Friday April 15, 2022

PPP Pervez Ashraf Elected Unopposed As NA Speaker

Islamabad: Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)’s Raja Pervez Ashraf has been elected unopposed as the National Assembly speaker as Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif prepares to distribute ministries among coalition partners.

Ashraf, who served as prime minister and water and power minister under PPP governments, was the only candidate to file nomination papers for the election after PTI decided to withdraw its lawmakers from the National Assembly.

Former Speaker Asad Qaiser — from the PTI — stepped down on Saturday immediately before the no-confidence vote against Imran Khan.

However, Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri, who faces a no-confidence motion, continued in the office and created hurdles in the assembly business.

← Back>