Thursday April 28, 2022

PM Shehbaz Constitutes Economic Advisory Council

Prime Minister Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif has constituted the Economic Advisory Council to review and formulate economic policies in a more holistic manner.

According to a Notification issued by Finance Division on Thursday, the 21-member Advisory Council will be chaired by the Prime Minister.

The members of council include Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhary, Miftah Ismail, Saleem Mandviwalla, Ms Marriyum Aurangzeb, Dr Ayesha Ghous Pasha, Mussadiq Malik, Tariq Pasha, Mian Muhammad Mansha, Mohammad Ali Tabba, Arif Habib, Dr Asim Hussain, Atif Bajwa, Faisal Farid, Aurangzeb, HBL, Waqar Ahmaf Malik, MD/CEO Fauji Foundation, Salman Ahmed, Shahzad Salim, Rahman Naseem, Musadaq Zulqarnain and Dr. ljaz Nabi.  

The EAC will be convened on weekly basis on the issues of national economic importance.

According to notification, the council would review overall economic condition of the country and propose possible corrective measures considering available resources of the country.         

It would analyse the effectiveness of subsidies, protection and other financial support by the government to the State Owned Enterprises (SoEs) and other vital sectors of the economy in context of overall cost and benefit analysis of such subsidies/protection.

Specific sub-committees will be formed for focused work with the timelines and defined scope.

← Back>