Sunday January 22, 2023

Mohsin Naqvi Sworn In As Caretaker CM Punjab

Lahore: Mohsin Raza Naqvi, newly appointed caretaker Chief Minister Punjab, late at night took oath of his office at Governor house Punjab.

Governor Punjab Baligh Ur Rehman administered oath from the caretaker Chief Minister Punjab. High government officials and relatives of the caretaker CM Punjab were in attendance in the oath taking ceremony.

Before this he reached at the Governor house in a strict security.

Earlier two hours ago, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) appointed Mohsin Naqvi as caretaker Chief Minister Punjab.

The CEC said that after deliberated upon the all the four names, the decision has been taken on the merit.

Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had also called on the CEC wherein the duo consulted over an appointment of the caretaker Punjab.

Pakistan Muslim League-Q and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) led Punjab government had suggested names of Ahmed Nawaz Sukhera and Naveed Akram Cheema.

On the other hand, the opposition benches have presented names of Mohsin Raza Naqvi and Ahad Cheema for the post.

Earlier, all eyes were looking towards Election Commission Of Pakistan (ECP) to end wait for new caretaker Chief Minister Punjab.

A special meeting called for the purpose in the chair of Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja at the ECP headquarter today where decision was taken.

Earlier, the joint parliamentary committee had failed to reach consensus on the names of caretaker CM Punjab.

The committee comprising government and the opposition members, set up to nominate the caretaker chief minister, consulted the matter but they could not agree on any name.

The government has suggested names of Ahmed Nawaz Sukhera, Naveed Akram Cheema while the opposition has suggested names of Ahmed Cheema and Mohsin Naqvi.

Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhry Parvez Elahi and Opposition Leader in Punjab Assembly, Hamza Shahbaz Sharif had nominated their respective members for the Parliamentary Committee to discuss appointment of Caretaker Chief Minister.

The Chief Minister has nominated Raja Basharat, Mian Aslam Iqbal and Hashim Jawan Bakht.

On the other hand, the Opposition leader Hamza Shahbaz Sharif has nominated Malik Muhammad Ahmad Khan, Syed Hassan Murtaza and Malik Nadeem Kamran to be part of the Parliamentary Committee.

The post Mohsin Naqvi Sworn In As Caretaker CM Punjab appeared first on Karachi News.

← Back>