Sunday October 30, 2022

Imran Khan Wins Another By-Election Seat From NA-45 Kurram

Kurram: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan has won by-elections from NA-45 Kurram by getting 20,748 votes.

On the other hand the joint candidate of Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) Malik Jameel Khan has gotten 12, 718 remained on second position.

Former prime minister Imran Khan had made history after he managed to win the most number of National Assembly seats simultaneously in six constituencies on October 16.

The polling was held on seven National Assembly seats on Sunday, which were, NA-22 Mardan III, NA-24 Charsadda II, NA-31 Peshawar V, NA-108 Faisalabad VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib II, NA-157 Multan IV, NA-237 Malir II, NA-239 Korangi Karachi I.

The hallmark of the October 2022 by-polls was that PTI Chairman Imran Khan contested all the NA seats except one that is NA-157, where the party had fielded Meher Bano Qureshi, daughter of party Vice-Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi against PDM’s candidate Ali Musa Gilani.

However, Khan lost Malir’s seat to PPP’s Hakim Baloch and won six seats breaking his own record that he set in the last general elections.

Prior to Imran Khan, PPP founder Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto contested on five seats simultaneously. The former PM emerged victorious on four seats and lost one.

The elections were held on the National Assembly seats that fall vacant after the resignation of PTI lawmakers following the ouster of Imran Khan from the PM Office through a no-confidence motion in April.

← Back>