Saturday July 23, 2022

Hamza Shahbaz Takes Oath as CM Punjab

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Hamza Shahbaz took oath on Saturday as the Punjab Chief Minister.

He was administered the oath by Governor of Punjab Muhammad Baligh Ur Rehman in the Governor House.

Hamza got 179 votes and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) got 176 votes in the CM Punjab Election. After Chaudhary Shujaat’s letter, the Deputy Speaker rejected 10 votes of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) in Pervaiz Elahi’s favour.

Although 186 votes were cast in favor of Pervaiz Elahi. However, the Deputy Speaker refused to count the 10 votes cast by the Muslim League (Q) MPAs citing Article 63 (1) (A) of the Constitution of Pakistan. Therefore, the parliamentary strength of the opposition alliance was reduced to 176.

← Back>