Thursday September 22, 2022

England Set Huge Total Of 200 For Pakistan To Chase

Karachi: England have set a huge total of 200 to chase for Pakistan in the second match of seven-match series here in Karachi.

Batting first, England batters displayed combined effort and took on Pakistan bowlers to finish at a mammoth 199/5 in the allotted 20 overs, at the back of a quickfire half-century from their skipper Moeen.

England openers Alex Hales and Phil Salt made amassed 42 runs for the first wicket in just five overs.

Shahnawaz Dahani then made back-to-back strikes in the sixth over to reduce England to 48/2 after the powerplay.

Dahani removed Hales and Dawid Malan in his consecutive strikes. Hales scored 26 off 21 deliveries, while Malan bagged a golden duck.

Salt then joined hands with Ben Duckett added 53 runs for the third wicket at a rapid pace. Salt fell victim to Haris Rauf in the 12th over. He scored 30 off 27 deliveries, laced with one boundary and a six.

Duckett’s lost his wicket in the next over after scoring a 43 off 22 deliveries with the help of seven boundaries.

England skipper Moeen and all-rounder Harry Brook then scored defining 59-run partnership.

Brook, however, fell in the 17th over as Haris castled him to bring an end to his astonishing cameo that saw him scoring a magnificent 31 off just 19 balls including a boundary and three sixes.

Moeen, on the other hand, remained unbeaten with a terrific half-century and scored a quick 55 off a mere 23 deliveries, laced with four boundaries and as many sixes.

For Pakistan, Haris and Dahani bagged two wickets each, while Nawaz castled a batter.

Earlier, England captain Moeen Ali won the toss and opted to bat in the second T20 international against Pakistan at the National Stadium in Karachi on Thursday.

England, who are on their first tour of Pakistan after 17 years, will have an upper hand after their first victory on Tuesday.

The tourists won the first game of the seven-match series by six wickets, also in Karachi on Tuesday.

Playing XIs:

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Haider Ali, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf, Usman Qadir

England: Moeen Ali (captain), Alex Hales, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, David Willey, Luke Wood

← Back>