Sunday November 14, 2021

Australia Beat NZ By Eight Wickets To Lift T20 WC Trophy

Australia crushed New Zealand by eight wickets to lift the ICC T20 World Cup trophy for the very first time, Mitchel Marsh and David Warner played important role in the Aussies chase of 173 runs target set by the Kiwis.

Mitchell Marsh smashed an unbeaten 77.

Chasing 173 for victory, Australia depended on a 92-run second-wicket stand between David Warner, who made 53, and Marsh to achieve their target with seven balls to spare in Dubai.

Warner became Trent Boult’s second wicket but Marsh kept up the charge to power Australia home to their long-awaited T20 crown and add to their five 50-over World Cup trophies.

Glenn Maxwell, who made 28, joined Marsh, who hit six fours and four sixes in his 50-ball knock, to put on 66 runs and hit the winning boundary as the Aussies came charging in to celebrate the triumph.

Earlier, skipper Kane Williamson hit 85 as New Zealand reached 172 for four against Australia.

Williamson’s 48-ball knock, and his 68-run partnership with Glenn Phillips, took the attack to the opposition after New Zealand were invited to bat first in Dubai and had struggled to 57-1 at the midway point.

Pace bowler Josh Hazlewood returned impressive figures of 3-16 including the wickets of Williamson and Phillips for 18.

Both teams are bidding for their maiden T20 World Cup crown.

The Kiwis started cautiously after being invited to bat first and lost Daryl Mitchell caught behind for 11 off pace bowler Josh Hazlewood.

Martin Guptill, on 27, and skipper Kane Williamson, on 18, were attempting to hit back with five boundaries between them.
Both teams are bidding for their maiden T20 World Cup crown.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and elected to field first against New Zealand.

← Back>